Andrology Australia Advisory Board

An Advisory Board of key business, medical and community leaders guide the Director, CEO and Management group in their role to administer and monitor funding received for the Andrology Australia program and to ensure that the program objectives are met.

Mr Simon von Saldern, Chief Executive Officer

As CEO, Simon manages the Andrology Australia office and is responsible for overseeing the strategic direction of the program.

Simon’s diverse experience, most recently as General Manager of Development and Business Services at MOVE muscle, bone and joint health, ranges from strategy and planning to communication and stakeholder engagement, sales and marketing, financial, risk and compliance management.

Mr David Crawford AO, Chairman (Vic.)

David is a former Partner and National Chairman of KPMG and is the current Chairman of Lend Lease Corporation Limited, Chairman of South32 and Chairman of Australian Airports Corporation Limited.

His past roles include a Director of BHP Billiton Limited, Chairman of Foster’s Group Limited, Chairman of National Foods Limited, Chairman of The Australian Ballet and Director of Westpac Banking Corporation.

David joined the Advisory Board and accepted the role of Chairman in April 2013.

Professor Alexandra Barratt (NSW)

Alexandra is a Professor of Public Health in the School of Public Health, University of Sydney. She has led research projects in breast and prostate cancer screening over the last 20 years.

Alex has been a member of the Advisory Board since July 2013.

Professor David de Kretser, AC (Vic.)

David was instrumental in establishing Andrology Australia, serving as inaugural Director from 1999 to 2006. He returned to Monash University after his term as the 28th Governor of Victoria, a position he held until April 2011. He continues to serve on the Advisory Board and Management Group of Andrology Australia.

David has been a member of the Advisory Board since April 2011.

Professor RA 'Frank' Gardiner AM (Qld.)

Robert Alexander ‘Frank’ Gardiner is a retired academic urologist, Faculty of Medicine, The University of Queensland. His academic base continues to be at the Centre for Clinical Research at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital. He is also an adjunct Professor at Edith Cowan University, Western Australia.

Frank has been a member of the Advisory Board since October 2005.

Professor David Handelsman (NSW)

David is Foundation Director of the ANZAC Research Institute and Department of Andrology at Concord Hospital. He is Australia’s first Professor of Andrology (University of Sydney) and has long had interest in all aspects of male reproductive health, medicine and biology.

David has been a member of the Advisory Board since March 2002.

A/Professor Doug Lording (Vic.)

Doug is an endocrinologist and andrologist in private practice at Cabrini Hospital, Melbourne. Doug has a 35-year interest in sexual medicine and testosterone use in men, and is a national expert in erectile dysfunction.

Doug has been a member of the Advisory Board since March 2002.

David Parkin OAM (Vic.)

David is a former Australian Rules footballer, a premiership captain, and four-time premiership coach, educator, media commentator, consultant and author. He retains his position as an Adjunct Professor at Deakin University, in the School of Exercise and Nutritional Science.

David has been a member of the Advisory Board since February 2013.

Dr Ray Warner (Qld & ACT)

As a GP, Ray has worked as a locum in rural and remote regions of Western Australia, Tasmania and Queensland, and as medical officer to the Australia Indigenous Doctors’ Association. He is currently enrolled in the Fellowship Chapter of Addiction Medicine (FAChM) attached to the Hunter New England Lower Health District in Newcastle. Ray is proud of his family background in the Awabakal and Kamilaroi Nations of Lake Macquarie NSW and Mungundi Queensland.

Ray has been a member of the Advisory Board since July 2013.

A/Professor Alan Wright (WA)

With a significant interest in GP education in the area of men’s health, Alan has worked in general practice in Western Australia since 1983. He is currently Chief Medical Officer of the PerthGP group.

Alan has been a member of the Advisory Board since March 2002.

Website by Essendon Creative